Home » Ackermann, Van der Merwe unavailable for Dutch cricket squad – DutchNews.nl

Ackermann, Van der Merwe unavailable for Dutch cricket squad – DutchNews.nl

Scott Edwards will lead an experienced 15-man Dutch squad at the upcoming men’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the US.

The squad largely resembles the one that travelled to India for the 50-over World Cup in October last year with the notable omissions of batter Colin Ackermann and all-rounder Roelof van der Merwe, owing to their county cricket commitments.

Daniel Doram, the St. Maarten-born left-arm spinner who picked up a five-wicket haul on his first-class debut for the Dutch as a 15-year-old a decade ago, has been handed his maiden T20I call-up after Van der Merwe opted out to fulfil his contract with Somerset. Doram’s experience playing in the Caribbean for Leeward Islands will be particularly helpful.

Voorburg seamer Vivian Kingma has also been included alongside New Zealand-based left-arm spinner Tim Pringle, son of former Kiwi cricketer Chris Pringle.

The seam bowling department will once again be led by Logan van Beek alongside left-armer Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Kingma and all-rounder Bas de Leede.

Off-spinner Aryan Dutt, one of the standout performers during the 50-over World Cup, will form a three-prong spin attack with Pringle and Doram although could find his opportunities limited should captain Edwards turn to the part-timers Sybrand Engelbrecht and Max O’Dowd.

Fast bowler Kyle Klein, who has been in scintillating form in the men’s Pro-Series picking up 14 wickets at 4.67 runs apiece, was unlucky not to make the main squad although has been included as the sole travelling reserve.

The batting line-up remains settled with the explosive opening pair of Michael Levitt and O’Dowd with Engelbrecht likely to bat at No. 3 followed by Edwards and De Leede. Teja Nidamanuru, who was an unused member of the squad at the previous edition in Australia, will be the designated finisher alongside Van Beek.

“We have been able to select a well-balanced team which we are confident will be able to perform in the conditions against the opposition we face in the US and West Indies,” head coach Ryan Cook said.

“All of the players have been training well and have been involved in the recent ProSeries with some exciting performances showing the growing depth and quality in Netherlands cricket. We have managed to perform admirably in the last two World Cups we have participated in and will be determined to rise to the challenges we face ahead to reach the next round of the tournament.”


Dutch News understands the KNCB, the Dutch Cricket Board, is lining up Russell Domingo, the former Bangladesh and South Africa head coach, as one of the assistant coaches to replace the outgoing Gary Kirsten, who travelled to the previous two World Cups with the Dutch but has now been appointed Pakistan’s limited-overs head coach.

The squad for the upcoming T20I tri-series involving Scotland and Ireland to be hosted at Voorburg CC will largely be similar, subject to Bas de Leede and Fred Klaassen’s availability owing to their county commitments. Kyle Klein will take up the vacant spot should either player be unavailable for the series.


Drawn in Group D, the Netherlands will kick start their campaign against Nepal on June 4th in Dallas before taking on South Africa in New York. The squad will then move to the Caribbean for their next two fixtures against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in the Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Saint Lucia.

The squad will depart for the US on 25th May to play warm-up fixtures against Sri Lanka in Florida and Canada in Dallas.

Squad: Scott Edwards (captain), Max O’Dowd, Vikramjit Singh, Michael Levitt, Wesley Barresi, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, Bas de Leede, Logan van Beek, Tim Pringle, Aryan Dutt, Daniel Doram, Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Vivian Kingma.

Travelling Reserve: Kyle Klein