Home » Netherlands’ Euro 2024 squad: Maatsen and De Jong named in provisional squad

Netherlands’ Euro 2024 squad: Maatsen and De Jong named in provisional squad

Ian Maatsen has been included in Ronald Koeman’s Netherlands provisional squad for this summer’s men’s European Championship in Germany.

The 22-year-old defender, who is yet to make a senior appearance for his country, has been rewarded for his successful loan spell at Bundesliga side Borussia Dortmund from Chelsea. The left-back has helped fire the German side into the Champions League final against Real Madrid on June 1.


How Chelsea loanee Ian Maatsen has become key to Borussia Dortmund’s ‘new ideas’

Barcelona midfielder Frenkie de Jong has also been included in the side despite not playing for his club since April due to an ankle injury.

Former Liverpool midfielder Georginio Wijnaldum, 33, now with the Saudi Pro League side Al-Ettifaq, retains a place having been recalled to the national setup in March following a nine-month absence.

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk, who was named Netherlands captain in 2017, will skipper the side in Germany. The 32-year-old has been selected alongside club teammates Rayan Gravenberch and Cody Gakpo. 22-year-old midfielder Gravenberch hasn’t played for the Netherlands since 2022.

Leverkusen defender Jeremie Frimpong will be hoping to take his club form onto the international stage. The 23-year-old defender was an integral part of the German club’s sensational season, scoring 14 goals and providing 12 assists in 44 games to date. Leverkusen are three wins away from winning an unprecedented unbeaten treble; they play Augsburg on Saturday in the Bundesliga having already claimed the title, and then play against Atalanta in the Europa League final on May 22 and Kaiserslautern in the DFB Pokal final three days later.



Jeremie Frimpong interview: ‘When I first came to the Bundesliga, I struggled’

Despite returning to training and representing his club’s youth side, Arsenal defender Jurrien Timber has been left out of the squad after sustaining an anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) injury at the start of the season. However, the 22-year-old’s twin brother, Feyenoord midfielder Quinten, has been named in the squad.

Atletico Madrid forward Memphis Depay has been named by Koeman. The 30-year-old is the Netherlands’ second top scorer (44), behind Robin van Persie (50).

The 30-man squad will be cut to the required 26 players when Koeman announces his final squad on May 29.

Netherlands squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord), Mark Flekken (Brenford), Nick Olij (Sparta Rotterdam), Bart Verbruggen (Brighton & Hove Albion).

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Daley Blind (Girona), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (Liverpool), Denzel Dumfries (Inter), Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Ian Maatsen (Borussia Dortmund), Micky van de Ven (Tottenham Hotspur), Stefan de Vrij (Inter).

Midfielders: Rayan Gravenberch (Liverpool), Georginio Wijnaldum (Al-Ettifaq), Teun Koopmeiners (Atalanta), Tijjani Reijnders (AC Milan), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Jerdy Schouten (PSV), Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig), Quinten Timber (Feyenoord), Joey Veerman (PSV).

Forwards: Memphis Depay (Atletico Madrid), Steven Bergwijn, Cody Gakpo (Liverpool), Donyell Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Brian Brobbey (Ajax), Wout Weghorst (Hoffenheim).

(ANP via Getty Images)